HMCA is committed to help you grow your Halal business. Our integrated, customer focused halal certification process allows your company to gain Halal approval quickly and painlessly and we also continue adding value to your business post-certification.

Our process has a minimal impact on the business as usual operations and the process has been widely applauded and accepted by industry with whom we remain engaged to further refine and streamline the process going forward in line with any changes to industry practices.

HMCA adopts a universal definition of Halal which is accepted by the majority of Halal consumers, scholars and organizations thus reducing confusion. HMCA is focused on ensuring that your company can market your products to your consumer base with confidence. We also allow oversight and auditing of our processes by international Halal governing bodies responsible for setting their Halal standards to ensure approval and acceptance of our certification process.

Our Halal certification process has been well received and accepted by the Halal industry and our partners who are satisfied with the smooth integrated nature of our certification approach and adherence to international Halal standards. We have welcomed and received visits from international Halal organizations to demonstrate our metrics and benchmarks. This keeps HMCA among the most recognized Halal certifiers in the world.

Animal-derived ingredients from poultry, marine, bovine and ovine sources are generally allowed if the animal has been slaughtered in a Halal manner. During our ingredient verifications, we ask for proof that the animal-derived ingredients such as gelatin have been derived from permitted animal sources and the animal(s) were slaughtered in a Halal manner. Animal-derived ingredients from pig (porcine) sources can never be Halal and will never be allowed in Halal production.

Whey protein is very popular these days for muscle gaining and various work outs. It is a powder ingredient used in milkshakes, protein bars, etc. food products. Whey protein, like cheese, is produced from the dairy industry where milk from cows is the raw ingredient. The process of producing whey like cheese requires a number of enzymatic reactions to occur leading to the production of whey. These enzymes must not have been derived from porcine sources and microbial enzymes are most preferred and actually used in most modern production methods. It is our experience that most whey powders on the market would be considered Halal however it is important to check for Halal certification or gain written personal assurances from the manufacturer.

Halal is the Arabic word for something that is permissible or lawful. The word haram means unlawful or prohibited and therefore is used as the opposite of Halal. Although usually used in the context of food, the word Halal is also used to describe other permissible things such as personal, financial and other daily practices. Halal is a lifestyle, a way of life and something to be proud of for positive behaviors with others and ourselves. 

Halal refers to any food product that is not prohibited. In fact, the vast majority of natural foods are Halal and therefore too numerous to list. Many but not all non-meat and non-alcoholic foods are Halal.

When it comes to meat, Halal or zabiha simply mean that the animal was slaughtered according to Islamic guidelines. Islam places great emphasis on how an animal’s life ends and how it is to be treated at the time of slaughter. All life, including that of animals, is considered sacred and must be treated humanely.

This includes mentioning God’s name when slaughtering the animal, slaughtering it by slitting the throat with a sharp object, and draining its blood.  One cannot eat an animal that died from electric shock or pre slaughter stunning or by being beaten.

Generally, any animal not killed according to Islamic Law is not permissible for Muslims to consume. However, there are some kinds of meats that Muslims are not allowed to consume such as pork. This includes some food items that might contain pork or non-Halal meat as an ingredient.

For instance, gelatin is often made from non-Halal sources such as pork.  Gelatin is often used in gummy products, marshmallows, and some desserts.  This would make the item prohibited.  However, sometimes gelatin comes from Halal sources such as fish which makes it permissible.

This will depend on the halal certifier, many of whom charge far higher fees than other industry accreditations. HMCA ensures that our costs are honest, and it is case by case.

Seafood is Halal and Muslims can generally eat anything from the sea. There are some exceptions to this such as the prohibition of consuming alligator, shark, crocodile, frog meat, etc. 

Islam values the preservation of one’s mind and sanity. Therefore, alcohol and wine are strictly prohibited. This includes cooking food with wine.

Halal certification is verification that the product(s) and/or plant conforms to the highest standards of Halal. The certification process is supervised by a qualified expert or group of experts in the field of Halal requirements with regard to food composition, handling and preparation.

Allah Almighty knows best

Some of the doubtful (Mashbooh) ingredients which may need HMCA Halal certification are:




 Mashbooh ingredients




Lecithin, Mono/ Di-glycerides, Folic Acid, Riboflavin




Cysteine Hydrochloride, Enzymes, Folic Acid, Niacin




Glycerin, Gelatin, Mono-Glycerides, Whey, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Stearic Acid, Magnesium Stearate



Artificial/ Natural Flavors, Vitamin A, B2, C, D, & E




Cheese, Fatty Acids



Folic Acid, Thiamine

Coffee Creamer

Coffee creamer

Artificial/ Natural Flavors, Mono/ Di-glycerides




Artificial/ Natural Flavors, Mono/ Di-glycerides

Donuts/ Pastries


Artificial/ Natural Flavors, Mono/ Di-glycerides, Colors

Ice Cream


Artificial/ Natural Flavors, Mono/ Di-glycerides, Colors



Jello/ Pudding


Artificial/ Natural Flavors, Colors, Gelatin






Animal Fat, Artificial/ Natural Flavors

Peanut Butter

peanut butter

Artificial/ Natural Flavors, Mono/ Di-glycerides

Cola/ Soda


Natural Flavors



Natural and Artificial Flavors



Flavors, Gelatin, Whey



Glycerin, Stearic Acid

Mouth Wash

mouth wash

Alcohol, Flavors, Glycerin

Nutritional Supplement

nutritional supplement

Gelatin, Magnisium Stearate



Sodium Tallowate, Glycerin



Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Apple Juice

apple juice




* If a product contains either an alcohol content of greater than 0.1%, OR any animal sourced ingredient, it should be avoided. Pleas call and confirm with manufacturer.